Skip to main content

News and Announcements

Browse the articles below to learn more about our faculty’s latest achievements, awards and honors.

  • 02.10.2023

    Investigators have discovered that a specific complex drives cell proliferation in mutated myeloproliferative neoplasms, suggesting this complex could serve as an ideal therapeutic target, according to a recent Northwestern medicine study.

  • 01.30.2023
    The latest edition of the Department of Pathology's newsletter, The Scope, is out now! 
  • 12.16.2022

    Northwestern Medicine scientists have identified a new therapeutic target against tumor cells and developed a compound which slows tumor growth and bolsters immune response.

  • 12.15.2022
    Ritu Nayar, MD is the new President of the American Board of Pathology effective January 1, 2023. Congratulations! 
  • 12.09.2022

    Northwestern Medicine investigators have identified novel intracellular mechanisms that could serve as future therapeutic targets for inflammatory skin diseases.

  • 11.30.2022
    Meet PGY-1 Dr. Margarita Loxas! Fun fact: Dr. Loxas is writing a children's book! Learn more about her here.
  • 08.09.2022
    Assistant Professor Jared Ahrendsen, MD, PhD was named director of the Mouse Histology and Phenotyping Laboratory at Lurie Cancer Center. This Laboratory is focused on providing investigators with research-specific histology services, consultation and training opportunities.
  • 08.05.2022
    Interested in a pathology residency at Northwestern Pathology? Join Chairman Daniel J. Brat, MD, PhD and Residency Program Leadership for a Q&A on September 1 from 1-2pm CST! Register here. 
  • 06.24.2022

    Proteins gain new interactions that are potentially oncogenic and could drive cancer development and growth, according to a recent study.

  • 06.02.2022
    The Second Edition of The Scope is out now! View the latest newsletter here
  • 04.13.2022
    The Department of Pathology has launched a General Surgical Pathology Fellowship. The program is designed to provide comprehensive advanced training in diagnostic surgical pathology, including standard diagnostic practices, immunohistochemistry and specialized techniques such as cytogenetics and molecular pathology. More information can be found on the fellowship's webpage
  • 03.14.2022
    Dr. Samuel Weinberg (PGY-3) is an inaugural recipient of the Emerging-Generation Awards from the American Society for Clinical Investigation. This award recognizes physician-scientists who are engaged in meaningful research prior to having a faculty appointment.
  • 02.04.2022
    Peng Ji, MD, PhD has been awarded the 2022 Ramzi S. Cotran Young Investigator Award from USCAP. This award recognizes a body of investigative work which has contributed significantly to the diagnosis and understanding of human disease.
  • 01.27.2022
    Ritu Nayar, MD was was named Vice President of the Executive Committee for The American Board of Pathology. The American Board of Pathology is the leading organization in certifying physicians in pathology. 
  • 01.03.2022
    Drs. Muller, Thorp, and DeBerge were featured in Northwestern Medicine Magazine’s cover story for their work on the benefits of regulating inflammation for treatment of a variety of conditions including heart failure, arthritis, and inflammatory bowel disease. View the article here
  • 10.29.2021
    The Department of Pathology is proud to announce the inaugural release of its newsletter, The Scope. View the newsletter here
  • 10.13.2021
    Dr. Rui Yi and his lab have been featured in the New York Times and published in Nature Aging for the study Escape of hair follicle stem cells causes stem cell exhaustion during aging. View the Nature Aging paper here and the New York Times article here.
  • 09.16.2021
    Dr. Alcino Gama (PGY-1) was featured on the Diversify in Path Podcast. He spoke about his transition from nephrology into pathology, his experiences at Northwestern pathology, and much more. You can listen to the podcast on Apple podcasts here: 
  • 08.09.2021
    The Pathology Department was delighted to host a summer intern from Northwestern Medicine's Pre-Med Internship Program. To learn more about our summer intern, Anika, please click here.
  • 08.05.2021

    Dr. Adam Booth and Dr. Carla Ellis were named to the 2021 Power List from the Pathologist Magazine. This list recognizes some of the brilliant and inspirational minds that fill medical laboratories across the United States.

  • 08.02.2021
    Dr. Margaret Flanagan recently received the inaugural Rogovin Pilot Research Award in Neuroscience from the Northwestern University Clinical and Translational Sciences (NUCATS) Institute. For more information on Dr. Flanagan and the Rogovin Award, please click here
  • 05.13.2021
    Elisheva Shanes, MD and Jeffrey Goldstein, MD, PhD along with Northwestern Medicine OB/GYN partners recently led a groundbreaking study showing Covid-19 vaccines don’t harm the placenta during pregnancy. The study has been featured on CNN and ABC 7 as well as in the Chicago Tribune. In addition, it was published in the journal Obstetrics & Gynecology. Learn more about the study here
  • 05.12.2021
    Led by Dr. JJ Wei, Gynecological Pathology members Drs. Blanco, Maniar, Novo, Fischer, Purdy and Weisman recently contributed to a textbook, Practical Gynecologic Pathology: Frequently Asked Questions, covering major diagnostic challenges and emerging concepts. Congratulations! 
  • 05.10.2021
    Brian Vadasz, MD, MSc (PGY1) was selected as a 2021 Trainee Award recipient by the Association of Pathology Informatics for his study using machine learning for examining placental tissue, mentored by Lee A. Cooper, PhD and Jeffrey A. Goldstein, MD, PhD. Congratulations, Dr. Vadasz! 
  • 04.29.2021
    Congratulations to Carla L. Ellis, MD, MS for induction into Alpha Omega Alpha, one of the oldest and most respected medical honor societies. AOA recognizes high educational achievement, honoring gifted teaching, and promoting service to others.
  • 04.27.2021

    As presented in a special issue of Cytometry B, Kristy Wolniak, MD, PhD, and an international group of cytometrists drafted guidelines to standardize flow cytometric evaluation of Sezary syndrome/Mycosis fungoides in blood. Congratulations, Dr. Wolniak! 

  • 04.23.2021
    Transfusion Medicine and Blood Bank fellow, Rasleen Saluja, MD, spoke with the College of American Pathologists on their podcast, CAPcast, about her experience advocating virtually with her Congressional representatives to successfully block a 9% cut to laboratory hospital services. Listen here
  • 04.21.2021
    Peng Ji, MD, PhD, was inducted into the American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI). Each year, the ASCI Council considers nominations of several hundred physician-scientists and recommends no more than 80 for election based on outstanding scholarly achievement. The ASCI is one of the nation’s oldest and most respected nonprofit medical honor societies and is a key organization focused on the special role of physician-scientists in research, clinical care, and medical education. Congratulations, Dr. Ji! 
  • 04.21.2021
    Daniel J. Brat, MD, PhD and William A. Muller, MD, PhD were both inducted into the Association of American Physicians (AAP). The Association of American Physicians (AAP) is an honorary medical society founded in 1885 by the Canadian physician Sir William Osler and six other distinguished physicians of his era for “the advancement of scientific and practical medicine.” Election to the AAP is an honor extended to physicians with outstanding credentials in basic or translational biomedical research and is limited to 70 persons per year. Congratulations, Dr. Brat and Dr. Muller! 

Follow Pathology on