Skip to main content

Endowed Lectures

The Northwestern Pathology Department is honored to host three endowed lectures each year. These lectures were made possible by generous donations from Northwestern Pathology benefactors. 

The Mayberry Lecture

The Joseph L. Mayberry, Sr. Lecture honors Joseph L. Mayberry, Sr. for his interest in the relationship between chemicals and diseases. The 2022 Mayberry Lectureship belongs to Denise Montell, PhD, the Duggan Professor and a Distinguished Professor at the University of California, Santa Barbara. 

To see more about this year's Mayberry Lecture and previous speakers, please click here.

The Rao Lecture

The M. Sambasiva Rao Lecture was established in honor of Professor M. Sambasiva Rao, M.D. for his endearing contributions to surgical pathology service, scholarship, teaching and leadership. The 2021 Rao Lectureship belongs to David Tuveson, MD, PhD, the Roy J. Zuckerberg Professor of Cancer Research and Cancer Center Director at Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory. 

To see more about this year's Rao Lecture and previous speakers, please click here

The Calandra Lecture

This lecture honors Dr. Joseph C. Calandra, distinguished pathologist and toxicologist. The 2022 Calandra Lectureship has been awarded to Carl Nathan, MD, Dean of Weill Cornell Graduate School of Medical Sciences, Chairman of Microbiology and Immunology and R.A. Rees Pritchett Professor of Microbiology. 

To see more about the Calandra Lecture and previous speakers, please click here.

Follow Pathology on